A UFO is done, done DONE!!!

fullsizeoutput_b40

This is my 6th UFO to be finished this year!!! YEAH!!!   It was started in 2016 and I worked on it at retreats … slowly!  It is a Judy Neimeyer pattern available HERE. It is a paper pieced pattern, but I made it without sewing on the papers.  It is my 4th quilt from this pattern and I have a lot more papers left to make more, if I so desire.  I find that is is a great quilt to use a batik jelly roll in.  This used a jelly roll that I bought at Hamels Fabrics YEARS ago.  Most likely when they were vending at a local quilt show.  It’s hard for me to resist blue!!!

Then, I added some blues from my stash so that I could make a bigger quilt.  It is quilted – on my domestic machine – with a feather wreath in each block and a meandering feather on the border.

The stats:

  • Finished size:  60″ x 77″
  • Batting: Hobbs 80/20
  • Quilting Thread: CanSew: grey

This quilt already has a destination – so please don’t email me asking for it!!Image result for winky smiley face

Upcoming Baby Quilt Marathon!

When I mentioned that I had 3 baby quilts that are destined for the quilt quild charity and that I had started 2 new baby quilts for the same charity … a couple of viewers wisely suggested that I host a Baby Quilt Marathon.

YES!!!  What a fantastic idea!!!

SEW … probably in early July, I will have a marathon … you can work on your own baby quilts.  Obviously, I don’t care if it’s for a charity or not!  And if you choose to work on a non-baby quilt – that will be up to you.  At any rate – it will be a marathon.

How long will the marathon last?  I haven’t any idea!  Do you have any suggestions?

Hopefully, I can figure out a linky party and you can all share your progress!

Design Wall:  

Piecing & Quilting

sewing machine pic I know you hate it when I can’t show you what I’m working on … but one will be blogged about on July 1.  It’s a Quilt of Valour quilt, using Island Batik fabrics and it is LOVELY … in my humble (or not so humble opinion!)

 

Stash Report

The Fractured paint box used 12.7 yards of fabric!  I did go shopping this past week, to a store that was closing it’s doors and all I bought was thread!

  • Fabric Used this week         12.7 yards
  • Fabric Used this year:         97.6  yards
  • Fabric Bought this week:   0 yards
  • Fabric Added this year:      57.05
  • Net Fabric used                     40.65
  • Husband’s Purchases           9.5

Stitchin’ Time

  • January – May:  122 out of 140
  • June – 15  out of  16
  • Year-to-date: 137  out of 156= 88%

For more Stitchin’ Time, you can check out Kate’s blog: Life in Pieces

31 thoughts on “A UFO is done, done DONE!!!

  1. Ha, ha, I love that you really are keeping your DH’s purchases separate this year. LOL Your blues is just lovely. I’m up for a baby marathon. I did a whole year like that, but have since mostly done ones for specific babies or else for specific charity needs. I could work on something for just-in-case!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Goodess gracious! What a lovely finish! And that quilting – on a domestic machine no less! It’s absolutely lovely! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Gail! Yay you and another UFO hits the dust. And what a pretty one it is, too. It has such depth with all the different shades of blue. Did it use just one jelly roll? Baby Quilt marathon – that sounds like it is right up my alley. I’ll probably join in and share details as you make them available. It sounds like fun! ~smile~ Roseanne

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Roseanne,
      Thank you … I did use one jelly roll and about 8 strips from my stash … One jelly roll will make a quilt that is 3 blocks by 3 blocks and I wanted this one to be bigger (3 x 4).
      Glad to hear that you will join in the marathon! YEAH!!
      Happy Quilting! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  4. That stained glass quilt is beautiful! The blues are gorgeous and your quilting is fabulous. You really nailed those border feathers. I’ll be staying tuned for that marathon; I have one baby quilt to quilt and another to make from start to finish.

    Like

  5. Hi Gail. I’m stopping by from Main Crush Monday. I love all the blues in your quilt. It’s such a beautiful one. Looks like stained glass.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Sunday Stash June 16, 2019 | quiltpaintcreate

Comments are closed.