First Friday Finish of 2019

img_2783“Shells” is done, done, DONE!  I am absolutely thrilled with how this quilt turned out.  And … it was done in time for my son to deliver it to Ontario!  YEAH!!!

IMG_2775When quilting it, I first marked the straight lines with painters tape and stitched straight lines in both directions.  Once that was done, I quilted swirls, feathers, wiggly lines and straight lines.  I thoroughly enjoyed the process!  The back is a soft grey minkie.  And it was quilted with a pale pale mauve thread.   Here are some close-ups of the quilting from the back and the front:


Screen Shot 2018-12-08 at 1.45.32 PMThis quilt is from the book “Turnabout PATCHWORK”

You can see posts of my progress HERE and HERE.

This book is really, really neat!  I’m almost positive that this will not be the only quilt I make from this book!

The author is Teresa Mairal Barreu.  She’s an Australian author and blogs at Sewn Up … which you can see her blog HERE.

This quilt was a DrEAMI. DRop Everything And Make It.  I was going to link up to mmm! Quilts, but the linky is closed.  Maybe next time! (But it IS fun to follow her blog and see what she creates!)

Happy Quilting!
Gail

*********************************************************

Linking to:

 

 

29 thoughts on “First Friday Finish of 2019

  1. Pingback: Turnabout Patchwork Blog Hop … my turn | Quilting Gail

  2. I LOVE this! All of the cool background space sure made for a fun free motion playground. Congrats on your finish and I can’t wait to see what else you make from the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a great finish. I like how you made a grid and quilted inside. Thanks for linking up with Thank Goodness It’s Finished Friday.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Gail! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this. The quilting!! Fabulous!! I love the idea of marking off segments like those in the center. Great idea and I am definitely going to PIN this so I can recall it for a future endeavor. Happy Friday. ~smile~ Roseanne

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Roseanne,
      Thank you! When I first marked off the segments, I had a different idea in mind … but it evolved and changed and I’m very happy with it!
      This quilt is out of my comfort zone … big blocks … modern looking … lots of neutral space … but in the end, I, too, LOVE it!
      Happy Quilting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • You know, you hit that on the head. I’ve been avoiding quilts with loads of neutral space that has to be filled with lots of quilting. This is so inspiring to me. {{Hugs}} Beautiful finish! ~smile~ Roseanne

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.