Bonnie Hunter Quilts

en-provence

Above: These are 9 of the Bonnie Hunter quilts that I’ve talked about on the blog before.  Information reading top left to bottom right.

  • Carolina Christmas – my way … a little different than Bonnie’s original intent, but all the credit for the inspirational design is Bonnie’s. I did it originally as a mystery, but it can be found in “Scraps & Shirttails 2.”  I made extra poinsettia blocks for the borders.
  • Scrappy Blue Bargello – a free pattern on her website.  This is queen size.
  • Scrappy Blue Bargello – this lap quilt was made because of the mistake I made in the queen sized one … had to use up the pieces, don’t ya know?
  • Orca Bay #1.  This was a mystery quilt and can now be found in “String Fling”
  • On Ringo Lake: 2017/18 mystery quilt and is available as a digital download on Bonnie’s website
  • Blue Ridge Beauty.  This is in “Adventures with Leaders & Enders.”  I did this as a true leader & ender and it took me about 3 years to complete.
  • Scrappy Fall Bargello: Queen sized using strips of fabric from a fall exchange
  • Orca Bay #2.  With added borders!  Queen Sized.
  • En Provence:  Another mystery quilt that is available as a digital download.  The borders were pretty neat to make.  All scrappy neutral squares.

These following quilts have not been featured on my blog before.

Easy Street.  I’m not sure what made easy … it was a lot of work!  It was originally made as a mystery quilt.  Today,  the pattern can be found in “More Adventures with Leaders and Enders.”

Bonnie Hunter-1

Grande Illusion. Another Mystery Quilt that I adapted from Bonnie’s pattern.  It is available as a digital download.Bonnie Hunter-3

Alletare.  Another mystery quilt.  The borders are scalloped.  It was actually easy to do them, using Bonnie’s method.  Available as a digital download.

Bonnie Hunter-4

Roll Roll Cotton Boll.  I LOVE this one!  The borders were fun to do – with no waste, using rulers.

Bonnie Hunter

Celtic Solstice. Another mystery quilt.  I like how the HST give the illusion  of circles – but there are absolutely NO curved seams in this quilt.

bonnie-hunter-5.jpg

If you’ve patiently waded through all my blurbs about each quilt, you will have discovered that I’ve done most of these quilts as a mystery quilt.  Bonnie offers a free mystery quilt that runs from late November to the beginning of January.  I find that I thoroughly enjoy doing the mysteries.  I learn something with each one.  Actually, I learn a LOT with each quilt!  Her instructions are fantastic!

I do have a friend, who does not care to do large quilts.  Pretty much each year, she does half of each clue and ends up with a nice sized lap quilt.

Linking to:

Happy Quilting!
Gail

7 thoughts on “Bonnie Hunter Quilts

  1. They are gorgeous! And it seems to me so much work – I have yet to try one. I am torn between Celtic Solstice and Roll Roll Cotton Ball.

    Like

  2. What a great display of quilts, a real tribute to Bonnie hunter ! I have made 4 quilts from her free patterns, but will have to try one of her mysteries !
    You have done a great job !!

    Like

  3. What a wonderful collection Gail! Its really fun to see them all together. I’m going to see if I can find the Alletare pattern. Your comment about the scalloped borders has me curious. 🙂
    Cheers
    Terry

    Like

  4. Hi Gail,
    Wow – so much quilty goodness today! But before I just in and comment, I love the idea your friend has about making half the blocks! Perfect! I REALLY LOVE Grande Illusion, and Celtic Solstice is a very close second. Your fabric choices really enhance the pattern – they just look gorgeous. Happy Friday! ~smile~ Roseanne

    Like

Comments are closed.