A Cute Finish

BBQG Donation Quilt

For the past 2 months, the guild Quilting 101 class has worked on baby quilts.  We choose a simple pattern and made 7 quilts.  It was good learning … how to make large half-square triangles, How to trim them easily and then arranging the blocks.  This month we did quilting with the walking foot.  Organic waves.  I thought it was fun to quilt!  Unfortunately, I only have pictures of the one I did.  Next month, the group will be putting binding on and I will try to get more pictures of the quilts then.

Silly me, I went ahead and put the binding on this one – so I’ll need to find another project to demonstrate binding next month.  That shouldn’t be too hard!  Image result for wink clip art image.

This quilt finishes about 37 x 37″.  The 2nd picture is from the back with the sun shining through … fun.

Design Wall

Piecing

The white Ohio stars are done.  About ¾ of the black ones are done.  And about ½ of the red string triangles with black and white “wings” are done.  I need to make a zillion more “wings”, but they are not as tedious as the hourglass blocks to make.  (In my opinion).

Then there is the assembly of the quilt, then adding borders, then quilting, making and adding the label and then binding.  Believe it or not … I think I see a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel.  It’s just a glimmer.

Quilting

IMG_1470

All of the straight line “in the ditch” quilting has been done.  I think I have decided what to do in the big negative rectangle spaces: a feather arch.  The big floral-type squares will likely be a flower made with what I call “C”.  And the checkerboard section … who knows.

 

PHD in 2018 Update

Screen Shot 2018-03-02 at 10.50.50 AM

Stash Report

I used guild fabric for the above pink quilt – so nothing deleted from my stash. No shopping, so nothing added!

Fabric Used this Week:    0  yards  
Fabric Used year to Date:  94.1  yards
Fabric Added this Week:    0  yards 
Fabric Added Year to Date: 14 yards
Net Fabric used for 2017:  84.1  yards 

Linking to:

Happy Quilting!
Gail

SaveSave

15 thoughts on “A Cute Finish

  1. You are really getting a ton done! Congratulations! My projects are too detailed (most of them anyway) to get more than one or two finishes a month. I can do more this summer when I am not working.

    Like

  2. Great simple pattern! I like the wavy lines; are you using a walking foot? I’ve been wanting to try that technique.

    Like

    • Thanks … yes, we used a walking foot. Started on the middle of one side, using gentle curves on each side of the centre seam. Then did it along the next side. From there, down the other seams and in-between – so the stitching ended up around 4-5″ apart. Don’t try to keep the curves (waves) the same … it’s “organic”, easy and looks great! Have fun!

      Like

  3. That’s a great pattern to learn on, and for a baby quilt! I’ll have to remember that one!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Sunday Stash March 11, 2017 | quiltpaintcreate

Comments are closed.