Grandma’s Fabric

This spring, I was in Ontario visiting my aunt and she asked me if I’d like to have my grandma’s fabric.  Well, that was a question that was easily answered.  My grandma was a sewer and a quilter. Several years ago, I finished one of her quilts and gave it to my Uncle Harvey.  After he passed away, his sister gave me the quilt back.  It is a treasure in our home and we call the quilt “Uncle Harvey.”

uncle-harvey

Once I got home, I spent several days cutting up her fabric into 3 1/2″, 2 1/2″ and 2″ strips and squares.  The 3 1/2″ strips are made up into a few tops and I’m currently working on a disappearing 9 patch.  I’m having a blast!!!  Some of the fabric was obviously from dress making and some of it has some polyester in it.  I’m using it all!  A picture of a top, without the borders can be seen here.

Here’s my progress on the disappearing 4 patches … the squares are 3 1/2″ (so the 4 patch is 6 1/2″)  …  the slices are at 1 1/4″ from the centre … the outside middle pieces are rotated and then the pieces are all sewn back together.  I need 100 for the quilt.

This blog post is linking to Judy’s Patchwork Times, go check out what’s on other people’s design walls.

Happy Quilting!

Gail

One thought on “Grandma’s Fabric

  1. Hi Gail. I just discovered your blog this morning. Sure do envy your retreat. I do miss the retreats we had at Rosemary Heights. Our group hasn’t been able to find another suitable. Enjoy your summer……Dianne in WR

    Like

Leave a Reply

